Marc Albrecht

February 21st, 2017
8:00 PMto10:00 PM

The vernal passion that sways men until they are very old, and which surprises them with each year”: thus Robert Schumann presented his first symphony, entitled Spring, composed in just three days during the cold winter of 1841 and performed to acclaim for the first time on 31 March of the same year at the Gewandhaus Saal in Leipzig by Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy. The fourth symphony, composed a few months later, was initially imagined as a “symphonic fantasy”, in which the movements follow one after the other without interruptions and the themes are presented various times; it was received without enthusiasm and Schumann re-elaborated the orchestration, presenting it again, this time with success, in 1852.


Ludwig van Beethoven
Fidelio, Ouverture op. 72
Robert Schumann
Symphony n. 1 in b-flat major op. 38 Spring
Symphony n. 4 in D minor op. 120


February 21st at 8 pm – Opera di Firenze

Leave a Reply