Martha Argerich and Lilya Zilberstein

February 19th, 2017
8:00 PMto10:00 PM

Martha Argerich and Lilya Zilberstein, two piano greats who need no presentation. In their dual recital, part of an Italian tour which will also see them performing in Turin and Genoa, they will take on three pieces which will allow them to demonstrate their characteristic virtuosity.
The concert will open will the six Studien für Pedal-Flügel by Robert Schumann, composed for the organ in 1845 during a period of intense study on Bach’s Fugues, later transcribed for two pianos by Claude Debussy. This will be followed by pathétique by Franz Liszt, initially created as Grosses Konzertsolo in 1849, transcribed for two pianos and published a few years later, dedicated to the apprentice Ingeborg Starle von Bronsart. The concert will end with Danze Sinfoniche by Rachmaninov, in the version for two pianos, the finale of which is a particularly extravagant creation, with continuous changes in metric, sparkling harmonies and unexpected syncopation: it was first performed in 1940 by the same Rachmaninov and Vladimir Horowitz.


Robert Schumann
Studien für Pedal-Flügel op. 56
(Adaptation for two pianos by Claude Debussy)
Franz Liszt
Concert pathétique in E minor R 356 for two pianos
Sergej Rachmaninov 
Symphonic Dances op. 45 n. 1 for two pianos

February 19th at 8 pm – Opera di Firenze

Leave a Reply